© 2013-2017 Camberwell Petanque Club Inc. - All Rights Reserved
The Practical Bits - 1

What part of a circle is where?

When looking at an approved plastic circle, now commonly
used in the modern game of petanque, where does it start
and end?

When players drew a circle on the ground, the maximum
allowable size was 50cm.  For a plastic circle, that is the
inner diameter.  What was the drawn line is represented
by the 3cm rim.  As a player could not stand on the
drawn line, so they must not stand on or touch the rim.

When measuring how far the cochonnet is from the circle,
the starting point is the inside edge of the circle.
One benefit of the drawn circle is that it
didn’t move.  However it’s easy to
kick the plastic circle out of place. 
So, how do you ensure that when
this happens, it can be returned
to its original place?

Just as with marking a boule or
coch to ensure that it can be
put back in the original
position if moved, so should
the plastic circle be marked. 
If not, then its original place
is in dispute.

Two straight lines will do the trick.
[PAGE 1][PAGE 2][PAGE 3]
If it's not onpisteup then it's not on!
Camberwell Petanque Club
Timed Games - 45mins plus 1, 2
or 3 ends?

Any rule changes always take time to settle in.  And
nothing is taking its time more than two particular rules,
(a) When an end starts and (b) how many extra ends to
play after time is called.  Oh, what about if I just throw in
the (c) additional end to resolve a draw?  While I’m at it,
why not also consider (d) what effect a voided end has?

When an end starts - As soon as the last boule has been
thrown, the new end starts. That means, if the umpire calls 
Timed Games - continued

time, after the last boule has been thrown, and neither
team has 13 points, you continue to play another end and
then the two "extra" ends rule may come into effect. (Dia.1)

Should the umpire call time whilst there are a number of
boules to be thrown, and 13 points has not been achieved
by either team, then the two "extra" ends rule may come
into effect. (Dia.2)

Extra ends - Should neither team score 13 points, the two
"extra" ends are played to resolve the issue. Should these
additional ends not lead to a score of 13 points, the
incomplete score is reported. (Dia.3)

If the second "extra" end concludes in a draw, then another
end is played. That’s three, right? (Dia.4)

Ends declared void - Should either of the "extra" two ends
result in being declared void, they are counted as an end
and are not to be replayed. (Dia.5)

Worst case - Dia. 6 shows a natural game ending in a draw
and the two "extra" ends having been declared void,
followed by a single end that has broken the draw.
However, the game is incomplete.

Diagrams (1-6)
Red Numbers = Reported Scores
Red Line = Time Call
Dia. 1, 4 & 6 have ends that started before time called.